1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physical Proof that these movies obey Laws of Physics

1. Jan 6, 2009 #1
    Hey guyz....
    Im still kind of stuck on a couple of stuff...i still got a these movies left to PROVE! that it obeys the laws and fundamentals of physics...
    1)Apollo 13
    2)The terminator
    3)October Sky
    4)The Day after tommorw

HELP!!!!please this is an ISU..its worth 15% of my mark...i need it today...if latest tomorow in the morining!!>>.THANK YOU
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 6, 2009 #2
    Woa I am no expert here but I'll give a helping hand (I don't know what exactly kind of proof you're asking for, I'm hoping and opting for a non-mathematical but rather theoretical based one)

1) As far as I remember the movie, it was based on normal real-life facts, and as far as I remember Apollo 13 incident didn't violate any Laws Of Physics, because if it did...we would know! This movie is rather safe in my opinion, yet everyone can point out any scenes to further discuss.

2) This movie is rather disturbing me. I think that, out of the four, this one is the one that's less safe. There are several facts here that I am worried about, like
    i) Momentum of bullets. The actual "Hollywood effect" that bullets shot at you make you jump 10 feet backwards regardless of the actual physics interpretation.
    ii) Liquid metal behaviour in relatively high temperatures. (May seem funny but if anyone could explain the physics behind this, he would be more useful than me!)
    iii) The scene with the electromagnetic field that spawned Swarzenneger.
    iv) The very Time-Travelling itself...

3) Not watched the movie have I.