1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Physics Degree and the Air Force?

Tags:
  1. Mar 1, 2017 #1
    Currently I am an undergraduate physics and mathematics double major. I am looking into the air force after graduation because I heard there are a lot of opportunities for people with STEM degrees but I have no idea what kind of opportunities are available for my degree paths. Joining the Air Force has a lot of appeal for me because I want to be challenged and be a part of something larger than myself. I realized before my junior year that this might be what I want to do which is why I didn't do AFROTC or anything like that.

I have looked into the navy nuke program and I don't really want to be crammed into a submarine. My interests mainly involve applied research but I am willing to compromise. I understand that the needs of the air force come before my own and that nobody can really pin point what opportunities will be available at a given point since they're always changing.

Before I apply to OTS my GPA will be above a 3.4 and I will graduate with honors. I have a summer internship at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory developing electronic propulsion technology, I've worked for two different high energy physics research groups and have volunteer/ leadership experience (clean academic and legal record, US citizen, nothing that disqualifies me). Plus tons of programming experience.

I heard that it is hard to be selected as a 61D (physicist/ nuclear engineer) from what I've head. Would my GPA too low? Is there anyone that can give me insight as to what may lie ahead. I just want to have some idea before I go all in.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 3, 2017 #2

MarneMath

Education Advisor

A few notes: