1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics grad school after non-physics undergrad?

1. Jan 28, 2012 #1
    I have a bachelor's in CS with a math focus (wound up 1 credit short of a math minor). I have been out of college for about six years now and working as a software developer during that time. Off and on since leaving college I have been self-teaching myself physics. Sometimes I daydream of going back for graduate school and getting a masters (or more) in physics. I am particularly fascinated by quantum computers, and my best case scenario is if I could find a graduate program where I could somehow be involved in quantum computer research-- in fact, I'm mostly interested in the idea of grad school because this is how I imagine one would get involved with quantum computing research right now.

Some questions--

1. Is this idea-- going for physics graduate school, after a non-physics undergrad degree-- even possible?

2. If I were to attempt to apply for physics graduate school, what would I need to do or how would I need to prepare for it? (Assume I'm okay with the idea of an answer to this question being something that takes years to implement…)