1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics into Comp Eng after BSc.

1. Jun 1, 2007 #1
    Bottom line: I want my BSc. in physics! I love to study it and don't think I'd feel comfortable majoring in something else. Call me crazy if you like :)

My question: How hard would it be to get into computer engineering at a master's level after I get my BSc.? Can I ever get my professional degree without doing an undergrad degree in engineering? How would I compare to other engineers if I got a master's degree in some area of CE?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 1, 2007 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Seems like it would depend on the school. Have you talked with your advisor about this? What schools are you considering for the graduate engineering degree? What are their published entrance requirements?

4. Jun 1, 2007 #3
    Hehe. Ok, maybe I should have said a bit more. I'm only going into my second year this fall so I haven't really been talking to my advisors or looking at schools (which maybe I should do?).

My main worry is that I won't be able to get my "professional status" or whatever you want to call it for med and engi students. Are you saying it really depends on the schools I'm considering?

I've just always been "into" the digital electronics "scene" from both the CS and CE perspectives, but I love to study the fundamentals offered in physics.

(for instance I really enjoy the scientific computation and digital electronics courses offered by my physics department.)

I suppose I just want to know if what I'm considering is completely unheard of? I would have thought no.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  5. Jun 1, 2007 #4