1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics on its own or a Joint Honours of Physics + Computer Science

1. Sep 13, 2012 #1
    Hi guys I'm new here, looking for advice on what Honours degree to do next year.

I left High School at 16 (I am now 23) and have been working in IT for the past 4-5 years, boring IT support kind of jobs. I've been an avid user of Linux(Fedora) for quite some years and have self-taught a little of PHP and Python in that time too.

I will be starting an "Access to HE" course next week and then will be(hopefully) going on to do a full Bsc Honours next September. The obvious choice at first was a plain Computer Science degree, however, I have always loved Physics and Astronomy for as long as I can remember. So now I have the chance to study it(physics) properly, I am a bit confused on what to choose to do as my Honours.

I would rather a career in Physics/Astronomy than IT, so I am thinking maybe do a straight Physics degree but I also have the choice at a few Uni's to do a joint Honours with Computer Science.

What do you guys think?

:)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 13, 2012 #2
    I know that the unemployment rates for the two majors are roughly the same. That being said, many physics majors wind up working in the financial industry or some other non physics related field. Especially given your work experience as a computer tech, actually working in a computer science field will be almost certain if you major in CS.