1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics undergrad versus the world

1. Nov 3, 2011 #1
    Hey everyone, I'm new here on this forum. At the moment I'm studying in 2nd year in physics but I'm also looking towards the future pretty seriously. My family and I are not really in a financial position to do much in line with further eduction past my undergrad. I was however looking at a post-grad computer science conversion course.

Now, I do have a keen interest in the worlds of quantum and astrophysics and though it would be fantastic to pursue a career in them I don't think it can be considered realistic without more focused further education on such topics.

I would have a interest in going into something like games development. I think it's a career that can really allow ones creative side to flow, you're limited only by your skill and imagination.
    I know myself however that this is a pretty coveted and hence job-limited industry.

I could see myself working in IT but I am not really sure about what it entails other than coding. Who wouldn't want to have a chance at working for google or microsoft!

I have genuine ethusiasm and passion for anything I can find any interest in but at this moment I really am lost. I would certainly consider venturing into the job market but physics being the vague degree it is I would even know what kind of job to look for.
    I was hoping some of you people out in the real world could shed some little bit of light. Any advice or opinions would be treasured. I just don't know what I'm going to do with myself.
    Thanks.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 3, 2011 #2