Physics with calculus. Prior to Calculus

In summary: Have you talked to the professor / instructor about this?Yes, I have spoken to the instructor about this. They said that I should be able to understand the physics without needing to know all of the calculus. However, they also said that if I need to use the calculus later on, I should be able to do so.
Kendal
This is my first year in college, and I am currently taking calculus 1, and physics w/ calculus.
My academic adviser told me that I would be okay taking the two together since I'd be learning the calculus as i went. This doesn't seem to be the case because for a lot of my problems we are already using derivatives and integrals. Is there a way I'll be able to use all of the Kinematic formulas (1D and 2D) without knowing much calculus? Should I continue trying to do work on physics with my little calculus knowledge or should I really invest my time in figuring out calculus first.
TL;DR: Can I get by in physics w/ calculus without knowing most calculus, or should I learn the basics of calc first and drop the physics class for now?

Physics news on Phys.org
You certainly need to understand the basics of calculus. You can understand a lot of physics while skipping the details of the specific calculus calculations. Eventually you will have to understand how to calculate derivatives and integrals to be able to derive several physics equations. But you can understand most of them without necessarily deriving them.

FactChecker said:
You certainly need to understand the basics of calculus. You can understand a lot of physics while skipping the details of the specific calculus calculations. Eventually you will have to understand how to calculate derivatives and integrals to be able to derive several physics equations. But you can understand most of them without necessarily deriving them.
so would it be smart to drop physics? or is it possible for me to still get at least a B in there?

Kendal said: