Prerequisites of Quantum Mechanics

In summary: The only three differential equations that anybody ever seems interested in solving, and the solutions are generally handed to you from the start. Once the solutions are handed to you, then you apply a bunch of linear algebra techniques to combine and interpret them. So linear algebra is where most of the real insight lies.
asen7
Hi everyone,

I am a college freshman, and was interested in this topic. So I was wondering, where does one draw the distinction between the physics and chemistry of quantum mechanics? Or in other words, what topics do quantum chemistry encompass, and what does quantum mechanics/physics encompass?

I was also wondering, what are the science class and math class prerequisites for quantum mechanics?
And I am a bit new to college, so could you list the order of math one takes to cover all the math prerequisites (from the introductory classes to the more advanced classes)?
And the order of the science classes to cover the science prerequisites?

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Quantum chemistry mathematically describes the fundamental behavior of matter at the *molecular* scale

Quantum physics is a branch of physics providing a mathematical description of the dual particle-like and wave-like behavior and interaction of matter and energy at the *atomic or subatomic* scale

as for the classes required, I cannot help you there: I am not in college yet

Likes unRheal
Thanks,

Anyone know the classes/prerequisites though?

On the physics side, you should first take your school's freshman physics sequence. On the math side, you need multivariable calculus. Differential equations would be very helpful but you can probably learn what you need as you go. Helpful but probably not strictly necessary are linear algebra and Fourier analysis.

Likes unRheal
is Fourier analysis a separate math course?