Prestige University or Regular accredited university?

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is debating whether to graduate from Weber State University or transfer to the University of Florida. They have concerns about the importance of the college they graduate from for their future career goals, particularly in pursuing a job at NASA or applying for a PhD program at MIT. The other person advises them to focus on getting good grades and not worry about the prestige of the university.
ScienceGeek24
Hi,

I'm a undergraduate, major in physics at Weber State University in Utah. I have a very serious debate about whether is better for me to graduate here at Weber or make a transfer to the University of Florida (since am a resident in Florida). I began by getting my GED at seminole Sate university , did my SATs and didn't do very well on them but i got accepted here at Weber.
By the end of this spring semester I will have 50 credits of course done at Weber state University and i need 60 credits of coursework just to be able to apply for transfer at the University of Florida.

I'm a person of ambition who really wants to get far in my career and someday be able to work for NASA or any space association that hires physicist to explore space.

But here is my concern, does it really matter what college I graduated from if I'm seeking for a job at NASA in the future , also, will having a Physics degree from Weber State University be enough to go to Grad school and apply for like MIT for a PHd in the future??

Physics news on Phys.org
ScienceGeek24 said:
But here is my concern, does it really matter what college I graduated from if I'm seeking for a job at NASA in the future , also, will having a Physics degree from Weber State University be enough to go to Grad school and apply for like MIT for a PHd in the future??