1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Programs for getting both a PhD in physics and mathematics?

1. Nov 6, 2009 #1
    Hello, I'm an undergrad in my third year with a major in mathematics and physics.

Needless to say, since I'm in my third year, I'm looking into going into graduate school and at graduate programs. But I have a large problem:

I really like the fact that I'm doing both math and physics. I really do not wish to pick between the two (I couldn't when I started my undergrad, and now that I'm going to be heading into graduate school, I still don't wish to choose between the two). My own personal goal is, after PhD and post-doc, to join a university where I can become a professor in both physics and mathematics, where I could teach both mathematics and physics courses as well as do mathematics (in the area of geometry) and theoretical physics (cosmology, particularly in gravity) research.

Are there any schools which offer graduate programs to get both physics and mathematics PhDs?

Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2009 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

People struggle to make an impact on one field, even given a lifetime to do it. Doing this in two fields simultaneously, working half-time on each is even more difficult. People have had success in interdisciplinary work, but what you want to do has a very, very small rate of success.

Many schools will not grant two PhDs or a second PhD to someone who has one.

4. Nov 7, 2009 #3
    theoretical physics and applied math arent exactly like french and russian. there are plenty of physicists who do math problems and vice versa