1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Prospective returning student; nanotechnology?

1. Jul 2, 2010 #1
    I graduated 5 years ago in Computer Engineering (branch of EE at my school, much in common) and have been working as a software engineer. It's mostly enjoyable/tolerable but I just don't find it intellectually stimulating and satisfying enough, and I don't see a career in this field advancing too far ahead in this aspect. Going back to school has always been on my mind and the question has always been "in what field", and I feel like I need to decide now.

I've been a big science geek for as long as I remember and CompE was really my second choice after physics (didn't go into physics due to family pressure and moment of weakness). Physics is still my favorite subject in science, and I've been studying aspects of it myself, but I'm not totally set on making it my career anymore; in fact as a career I'm perhaps more interested in nanotechnology, and even biological engineering. The former would be the first choice because biology is a bit removed from my background and I'd pretty much have to do undergrad all over again. Nanotech at the school I'm looking at (University of British Columbia, Canadian, where I did my major) is under EE and has some very interesting research related to its biomedical applications (which really is my core interest); this may be a good point to branch out from.

Now I realize this forum is primarily physics oriented, but the people here seem pretty knowledgable about a large variety of things so I'm gonna ask anyway.

- Is this a good field to go into with regards to academic and industry research opportunities?