Purchasing binoculars for stargazing advice

• Thread starter cristo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Stargazing
In summary, I want to buy some binoculars, but since I'm new to this thought I'd ask for some advice. I've found a few candidates on amazon, what do you reckon?The three Amazon options that the poster has found are all good options for binoculars for daytime viewing, but for nighttime viewing, the Fujinon 10x70 FMT-SX Polaris are the best option. The Orion 11x80mm binoculars are also a good option for nighttime viewing, but they are more expensive than the Fujinon.
cristo
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
I want to buy some binoculars, but since I'm new to this thought I'd ask for some advice. I've found a few candidates on amazon, what do you reckon?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B7LQ9QU/?tag=pfamazon01-20

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E3QH60E/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Then these are really cheap (but maybe for a reason..): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006ZN4TZS/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Does anyone have some advice? Are any of these any good, or do you have some other recommendations for a first pair?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
It depends on your intended use. For daytime land use any of those might do. For nighttime viewing of stars and the like, specs become much more critical.

aabottom said:
It depends on your intended use. For daytime land use any of those might do. For nighttime viewing of stars and the like, specs become much more critical.
I should have been more specific - I'm after an pair to view the stars and the night sky, not anything serious, just a pair I can carry around (so they need to be relatively compact). Those you mentioned look huge, and I'm not sure I'm keen on burning out my eyes!