1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pursuing a PHD, but what kind of work do I do after?

1. Dec 21, 2011 #1
    I am currently a freshman at a university, pursuing a Physics B.S. After I'm planning on going to grad school, until I have a PHD. Obviously, I'm still very early in my education, so I don't really have the specifics of what I want to do or what I plan to do worked out yet.

I really want to have something to do with String Theory in my line of work, as that's what got me interested enough in physics to truly be passionate in my studies.

What I'm wondering is: What types of jobs in general do people with PHD's in physics (any field of physics) typically do?
    And also, if I were looking into a job that had to do with researching String Theory, is the only option available becoming a university professor and then trying to conduct grant funded research? (Please explain this more to me, as I'm completely unclear as to what the "famous" physicists (String Theory researchers like Briane Greene, Michio Kaku, Ed Witten etc.) actually get paid for, and this is just my guess as to how it works)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 21, 2011 #2
    PhD = Please help despirately. I emabrked on one with out thinking properly what I was going to do afterwards. I gave it up in the end and got a job. I did meet my now wife though during those years so something very good came out of it. I am now self employed running a bike shop.