Best PhD to stay in physics research?

In summary, the conversation discusses the aspirations and concerns of an incoming first year undergrad physics student who wants to become an experimental research physicist, particularly in the fields of particle physics and astrophysics. They have attended summer camps and lectures at national labs and have determined that they want to work at a national lab as a staff scientist. However, the conversation also highlights the uncertainties and challenges that come with pursuing a career in physics research, including the possibility of changing interests and the potential for government funding cuts. It is suggested that the best field to stay in research is currently quantum technology, but this may change in the future. The individual's chances of obtaining a staff scientist position at a national lab may increase through successful PhD research and finding a sponsor at
scribblekibble
Hi, I'm an incoming first year undergrad physics student at a US institution. I want to be an experimental research physicist desperately; the fields I love the most are particle physics and astrophysics (and even a combination of the two: astroparticle physics, DM/DE detection, neutrinos, you get the gist), though I have heard that those fields aren't secure and it can be difficult to stay within the subfield (I also enjoy cosmology and accelerator physics).

After attending some summer camps, lecture series, and a masterclass at national labs (SLAC and LBNL), I can say confidently that I want to become a staff scientist researcher/physicist at a national lab. Honestly, I'm open to fields other than HEP-EX and astrophysics (for example, a PhD in accelerator/beam physics or optics would be suited well for SLAC), so long as I get to do impactful experimental scientific research for the rest of my life--I do NOT want to end up in some insurance bank or financial job (side note-the constant travelling that a scientist gets to do sounds awesome).