1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Mechanics and Electrical Engineering

1. Aug 22, 2013 #1
    What areas of electrical engineering research require good knowledge of quantum mechanics? I'm an EE major minoring in Physics (done 3 years). I know I want to do research, but I'm trying to figure out what area(s) of research I want to pursue. Of my classes my favourites have been the ones related to electromagnetics and quantum mechanics (not to say I don't like anything else, those have just been my favourite). I have a decent idea of what there is in terms of applied "classical" electromagnetics because I have some experience there, but I'm really curious about what sort of electrical engineering applications involve quantum mechanics or "modern" physics in general, because I think I'd really enjoy something like that.

I have quite a bit of time to figure this out and I'm willing to search around for myself, but I really just need starting points: general research topics, companies, research groups, specific projects/papers, or anything else you happen to know of that has to do with modern physics (especially quantum) used in EE applications would be greatly appreciated. I plan to search around for more info on my own, but I'm really lacking starting places at this point.

Also, to be a little more specific in case it wasn't clear, I'm looking for things where I would actually need to understand quantum theory, not just things that are based on quantum. E.g., I know semiconductors are based on quantum physics, but all the semiconductor applications I'm familiar with (admittedly not that many) don't really require you to know much, if any, quantum mechanics.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 22, 2013 #2

analogdesign

Science Advisor