1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Questions about studying physics in Canada

1. Dec 15, 2013 #1
    Hello, this forum has been common visiting place of mine for the past year and I sure have learned alot. I have created an account now as I need some academic guidance.

Currently, I intend to study theoretical physics at the university level. I am currently studying A-Levels so I am more familiar with the UK system and will apply to universities such as Imperial and UCL. However, I have relatives in Canada and studying at McGill and UBC are viable options for me.

I am slightly confused because British universities offer separate courses for theoretical physics (UCAS F325:BSc and F390:MSci) with less emphasis on experimental work than the "normal" Physics program that they offer (UCAS F300:BSc and F303:MSci). McGill, UBC, and University of Toronto have seemingly no such distinctions with their undergraduate degree programs having only Physics, and joint honours of Physics with either Math, Chemistry, Geophysics and Computer Science. There is no theoretical physics degree and the core modules in the physics program contains experimental physics. Can anyone who has studied in Canada or UK please shed some light on this.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 15, 2013 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor