Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quick idea on the make-up of matter

1. Sep 25, 2012 #1
    I'm just throwing out and idea when I say this, but what if matter isn't made up of point particles or 1 dimensional strings at all? What if matter is constantly in a state of energy and matter? This would eliminate the 11 dimensions needed for m-theory,which would keep us at the good ol' 4 dimensions that we all know and love, and is very much like the idea of wave-particle duality. The math is already there, e=mc^2, why not put the conversion to work? Again, just throwing thoughts out there, so feedback on why this wouldn't work would be wonderful.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 25, 2012 #2

Bill_K

Science Advisor

Or, on the other hand, what if energy is constantly in a state of matter and energy? You're not making any sense.

4. Sep 25, 2012 #3
    I'm no expert (obviosuly), but Bill_K is right, this doesn't make any sense. CIANSA is basically saying, "What if apples were really apples and oranges?" What is that supposed to mean?

5. Sep 25, 2012 #4
    I'm just saying that matter isn't ever really just matter, it is ALWAYS in a state of matter and energy.

6. Sep 25, 2012 #5

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Yes, I think everyone gets what you are saying, what YOU don't seem to get is that it isn't particularly meaningful.

7. Sep 25, 2012 #6
    It might explain the complete make-up of matter, instead of using 0 dimensional point particles or 1 dimensional lines.

8. Sep 25, 2012 #7

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Yes, and unicorns might exist, but as far as I know, they don't.

You are going to have to come up with a LOT more than just throwing some words together to get anyone to take this seriously.

9. Sep 25, 2012 #8
    I know, I was just wondering if it was even a possibility.

10. Sep 25, 2012 #9

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award