Quick question about determinants in mathematica

In summary, you can define functions and variables in the same cell, but when you want to use them in a computation, you need to use subscripts.
Amok
Sup guys,

So, I'm totally new to mathematica. I need to use it in order to compute a determinant of a
4x4 matrix that is made up entirely of functions. I almost managed to do this in wolfram alpha, but for a 4x4 matrix, the input is too long. Do you guys know how to do this (and if it even possible)?

Physics news on Phys.org
Is this example enough to show you how to do this?

In[1]:= Det[{{Sin[t],Log[t]},{t^2,1+t}}]

Out[1]= -t^2 Log[t] + Sin[t] + t Sin[t]

Are you totally new to mathematics, too? Working out a determinant for a 4x4 matrix by hand is not much of a problem.

gsal said:
Are you totally new to mathematics, too? Working out a determinant for a 4x4 matrix by hand is not much of a problem.

I assume the functions are rather lengthy, and Mathematica is great for simplifying. I think you are assuming its a 4x4 of constants.

The above example should be enough.
Det[] is the function.
Tables/Matrices are entered as:

nameofmatrix = {{1,2,3,4},{5,6,7,8},{9,1,2,3},{4,5,6,7}}

for a 4x4 of constants. You can put the functions in by yourself, or define them prior:

F[1,1] = x^2;
F[1,2] = 3 x + 4;
F[1,3] = Sin[x];
F[1,4] = x^2;
F[2,1] = 3 x + 4;
F[2,2] = Sin[x];
F[2,3] = x^2;
F[2,4] = 3 x + 4;
and so forth for all 16 functions;

Then if you have all 16 functions defined as F[i,j] do:

matrix = Table[F[i,j],{i,1,4},{j,1,4}];
det = Det[matrix]

And you can simplify with :

detS = Simplify[det]

oor detFS = FullSimplify[det]And if you don't know, since you're new, to execute the command you use "SHIFT ENTER" to run the statement.

gsal said: