1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Rectangular Optical Wavguide - EM Wave

1. Jul 28, 2007 #1
    Hello All, this is my first post, and while I'm a newb to the forums I'm not a newb to Optics. However, I have a very light background in low level electromagnetics, I'm more of a network design person.

I'm working on a very very long term personal project to understand optics better and I've come to the point where I would like to understand how to calculate how an EM-Wave propagates down a Rectangular Optical Waveguide. This waveguide is made of one glass material "n=1.47", it has nothing but air surrounding it. "See the attached image"

If I take the standard wave equation of:
    [tex]{ \partial^2 u \over \partial t^2 } = c^2 \nabla^2 u[/tex]

and I calculate that the speed of light in the medium "with a refractive index or n=1.47" is
    [tex]c = { c_o \over n } = { 1 \over \sqrt{ \mu \varepsilon } } [/tex]
    which equals: 203945578.23

What's my next step?
    Am I even going in the right direction?

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 29, 2007 #2

olgranpappy

Homework Helper

both Jackson and Griffiths (and probably every EM book ever written) have sections on waveguides, and in particular on rectangular waveguides like the one you are interested in... I would probably start with Griffiths if I were you:

Griffiths, "Introduction to Electrodynamics", section 9.5 (Guided Waves), especially section 9.5.2 (TE waves in a rectangular Wave Guide)

4. Jul 29, 2007 #3
    Thanks, I'll start there.

5. Jul 29, 2007 #4
    I got a hold of a copy of: Griffiths, "Introduction to Electrodynamics", section 9.5 (Guided Waves) .. and read through chapter 9...

I guess my problem is the level of math is above what I'm used to.