1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Research In Theoretical Physics

1. Mar 21, 2013 #1
    Hi guys! I'm a third year physics student. and I'm studying mathematical physics and particle physics. I thought of doing some research in the field of theoretical physics but the problem is I don't know which subject is most appropriate for me to do research in. I will appreciate it if someone could help me with this.
    (i'm interested in a broad range of fields like QFT, QCD, Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Strong Gravitational Fields.)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2013 #2
    My dear saysbms, this depends on what you like more... you are interested in more or less all theoretical physics as comes out from your post, so it is not easy.
    Anyway what I can do is to indicate to you some directions science is going lately (at least in fields related to mine) and you can see what you are more interested in... maybe read something and decide... and consider that if you are third year you may have some more time to decide, you don't need to pick a too specific field yet :smile: