1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Research opportunities (undergrad)?

1. Nov 9, 2006 #1
    Hi, I am currently a undergrad freshmen majoring in Physics.

I've been poking around the forums and checking posts. One thing i noticed is that in order to get into good Grad school program, one needs solid research experiences. It seems that i should get started as soon as possible.

But the thought of researching real physics scares me. I am just a freshman, only taking some intermediate classical mechanics and modern physics class (and Calc III), would I be able to actually get something done in a research? It seems that I should be expected to do researches asap but what kind of knowledge in physics am I expected to know?

I checked the NSF website... most of the undergrad research programs involve topics that i have no familiarity with. Plus most of them have application deadlines around Feb.

When am I expected to engage in these internships (right now or maybe during Junior, Senior year?) When should I get started sending in applications for these internships or research opportunities (for summer or in general)? Am I expected to get good quality recommandations from my professors for these applications? (the idea of recommandation scares me... most of the professors do not even know my name...)

Last edited: Nov 9, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 9, 2006 #2

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

That's the beauty of it!

The professor can be researching the most complicated thing where you won't understand a word in the title of the topic or even the description of it.