Research that highschoolers could do during the summer.

In summary: You will need to have a deep understanding of the language used in the field you are researching in order to be able to describe what you are trying to do and what you are trying to find. Without this understanding you will not be able to solve the problem or find the information you are looking for.
jbmiller
I've read in numerous places that most people applying to the higher education colleges for areas such as physics have already done some sort of research. I'm currently a freshman in high school and am looking to get into a top-notch college, but my main road block is getting started with research. I would probably hold off on the research until the end of my sophmore year, but even then I will have no idea on were to start with research.

Basically what I'm asking is that someone give me some ideas and places to start with research, I do live in Kansas if that helps at all.

Physics news on Phys.org
You cannot make a meaningful contribution to physics as a high school student (usually). To do so you would first need to be proficient in the various areas of physics, all of which have advanced mathematics as a prerequisite.

I know, but I wouldn't be looking to make a meaningful contribution. Just to simply show to colleges that I have more than the grades in the incredibly advanced classes and test scores.Your comment shows that I have no clue where to start and what I would even do...

jbmiller said:
I've read in numerous places that most people applying to the higher education colleges for areas such as physics have already done some sort of research. I'm currently a freshman in high school and am looking to get into a top-notch college, but my main road block is getting started with research. I would probably hold off on the research until the end of my sophmore year, but even then I will have no idea on were to start with research.