1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Safety School for Quantum Computing/Atomic Physics

1. Jul 28, 2014 #1
    Hello, Physics Forums. I am a recent graduate from UCLA with a bachelors in chemistry. I would like to pursue a graduate degree in physics in (in order of preference) quantum computing, atomic physics, or nuclear physics. Right now I have four schools that I think are fairly safe but, my degree being in chemistry rather than physics, I am a bit worried about getting in somewhere. So can anyone recommend some lower tier schools with decent atomic physics programs? It's easy enough to research the more famous schools, but there's probably some decent schools out there that I haven't even heard of. Do my current safety schools seem safe enough (I know safe does mean as much as in undergraduate, but I don't think anyone would argue that Oregon State isn't safer than CalTech)?

Schools:
    U. Washington (first choice)
    USC (tied for first)
    U. Boulder (third choice)
    U. Oregon (fourth choice, fairly safe?)
    Oregon State (safety)
    UC Merced (safety)
    South Dakota School of Mines (safety)