1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Seeking advice to find a more fast paced diverse career

1. Sep 29, 2016 #1

donpacino

Gold Member

I graduated with a bachelors degree in electrical engineering degree 3 years ago. Since them I have been working full time for a large defense contractor. I just this past year finished a masters degree in systems/controls engineering.

At my work I have a combination of experience in analog design (low and high power), fpga design, and some systems level controls work. I have been lucky enough to move between a few business areas in the short time i have been with the company. I enjoy the subject matter at my job, and the concept of the design. The problem is working for a large company many of the problems are already mostly solved. I got the opportunity to work on a new power supply a few months ago and I was very excited. In reality it was a redesign of an existing power supply. There was little to no architectural difference between the solution I was to make, and the former solution. The implementation required very little math or intellectual capability. It seems that this is the norm, and it makes sense from a business prospective.