Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeking referee-like comments on neutron detection technique in linked paper

1. Nov 7, 2012 #1
    Hope mods will allow this. Seeking comments on neutron detection techniques described in the linked paper. Authors are affiliated with China Institute of Atomic Energy, Beijing. This is a LENR paper with no theoretical content. Full text is free to download.

http://iopscience.iop.org/0256-307X/29/11/112501

Jeff

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2012 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

I am not an expert, but here are some things which confused me in the paper:

Infrequent? Are there nuclear reactions which produce neutrons sometimes, and sometimes not?

Not really convincing. If you try, you can find positive results for every crap. The question is how many (sensitive) negative results there are.

Are there any scientific measurements which do not require that?

Trivial, if done automatic or with statistical methods. If not, it is problematic and you should explain this.

Helpful? I think the observation of nuclear products is required to observe nuclear reactions.

I think you should introduce the detector design first before talking about performance details.

Where are the neutron detectors, and how do they work? You did not explain this. Just filling 3He in a tube is not enough.

Pure U-238?

You could add some sketch of the Ti/D-foils.

Cycles of what?

Figure 2 should get error bars.

I think that should be 0.088 counts/s.

If you calculate the difference between two values with 0.03 uncertainty, the resulting uncertainty is not 0.03 unless you have some correlation (which I would not expect here, if you have that you should explain it).

The position of that text at the bottom of the page is a bit unfortunate - probably TeX-induced, and might change with text edits.

Obvious for cosmics-induced background.

1-05?