1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self Taught Calc- What to read after Morris Kline?

1. May 8, 2012 #1
    Hello everyone,

I'm brand new here as a poster. I have been working to teach myself calculus to a solid level before taking classes in calulcus. I want to make sure I have a good foundation before I get "thrown to the wolves" so to speak. I've always been a little scared of math so I want to make sure I'm ready to rock.

Right now I have Calculus Made Easy by Thompson, and Morris Kline's Calculus an Intuitive and Physical Approach. I am just starting on these and am impressed so far!

I know almost nothing about Calculus (never taken any calc classes whatsoever, only College Algebra), particularly how much I need to know to be competitive in a three course Calc sequence.

So I can make sure I have all my ducks in a row, what should I look to read after Morris Kline's book? What would take it to the next level? I am hoping to find something similar to his pedagogy vs an average calc textbook that will probably blow my mind.

However, having not learned the material yet I wanted to ask the opinion of those who have been in my shoes and gone before me. Any suggestions on what comes next after Kline to make sure I have a solid grounding for a 3 course calc sequence?

All I know of is "How To Ace The Rest of Calculus" but it's my understanding this is mainly just a basic overview and not really in depth enough for self-teaching, but I could be wrong.

Thanks a million, and I am more than happy to clarify anything. I just don't know what all I don't know at this point :smile:

Last edited: May 8, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2012 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed