1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I continue whith physics or change majors?

1. Oct 9, 2011 #1
    I am in my 3rd semester and I'm not exactly sure what to do. I feel dumb in all of my classes and even failed my physics exam. I love physics but I just feel like I'm too stupid to understand it. Should I change majors?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 9, 2011 #2
    Never call yourself stupid. If you don't understand something, doesn't mean you are stupid. Study more, that is the point of college anyway. And there are tons of online tutorials and lectures that explain everything about physics in as much detail as possible.

4. Oct 9, 2011 #3
    this is going to sound strange but I don't know if studying helps when i do about the same =(

5. Oct 9, 2011 #4
    Try to understand things. Go from the very basics. If you love something, you will always be able to learn it. Understand the basics VERY well. If you want to be good at physics, you have to have rock solid math. Calculus must be your second language.

Nothing is impossible if you set your mind to it.

To recap, physics is very hard, especially at college level. Not understanding it at first, isn't so strange.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2011
  6. Oct 9, 2011 #5
    3rd semester of physics so you're taking Modern Physics?

In any case, understanding physics and grasping the material means you need to have a well enough grasp on the mathematical concepts (calculus 1 +) that are incorporated into the course. Calculus doesn't necessarily have to be a second language like someone suggested, but you should be a good (B or above) student, and know the main points well enough to help you.