1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I do undergrad experimental research if my goal is theoretical physics?

1. Feb 27, 2015 #1
    I'm currently an undergraduate double majoring in physics and math and hoping to go into theoretical physics. It seems to me that there is very little I can do now in terms of research on theoretical physics, simply because of the knowledge required (please correct me if I'm wrong). I can get research opportunities in experimental physics however. In terms of getting into a good graduate program, does this kind of research really matter or is my time better spent on just learning as much as I can so I can do actual theoretical research sooner?

I should note that I spent over a year already working in a lab, and will get a published paper out of it, so my resume wont be just courses taken. I'm asking if I should go look for more research.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 27, 2015 #2
    What specific area of theoretical physics are you looking at? I agree experimental experience is more common and easier for undergrads, but depending on your field you may have some theoretical options open if you're a very advanced undergrad student.

4. Feb 27, 2015 #3
    I'm not entirely sure, I'm really loving math and my gut instinct is that the interesting math is in theoretical physics. Topics that seem to catch my eye are primarily general relativity and high energy physics. I may be wrong but it seems like playing around with QFT seems like a lot of fun as the areas in math I really like are topology geometry and algebra and their intersections. That's why I'm wondering if I would best spend my time studying and learning as much as I can since as of now I still can't do research in the areas I'm interested in

5. Feb 27, 2015 #4

QuantumCurt