Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I go to Europe to do MCF (PhD)

1. Nov 5, 2014 #1
    So it looks like Alcator C-Mod is going to lose its funding this year again, in addition I have heard that they are going to have to decide whether to shut down either DIII-D or NSTX (can anyone confirm?). There aren't very many schools in the US that do MCF research (The only one I can think of that actually has a solid concentration of academics doing MCF research is Wisconsin...MIT used to be but they all left...other individual profs are sort of scattered about the country)

I'm american, but I'm currently doing my master's degree in plasma physics/nuclear fusion in the UK and I'm wondering if I should just stay here, or go to another European country since I want to do MHD turbulence theory and simulations. There are so many universities here that have fusion research i.e. Oxford, Liverpool, York, Queen's Belfast in the UK, Max Planck in Germany, EPFL Switzerland, Carlos III and Polytechnic Madrid in Spain, Chalmers/KTH Sweden, Aalto Univ. Finland, a bunch of others I'm probably forgetting.

I'm going to apply to Wisconsin and MIT, but in case I'm not accepted there, there aren't really very many other options in the US.

I've read that if you do a Ph.D. in Europe or another country, it can harm your chances of getting a professorship in the US since they don't do graduate courses like we do. Can anyone speak to that one way or another?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 6, 2014 #2
    C-mod is likely going to be shut down. I don't know what this means for MIT. They have strong collaborations of many other labs. And they've had time to plan for the shut down. It won't be the end of fusion at MIT, but theres probably going to be some restructuring.