1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should i switch from BS in math to MS in Engineering ?

1. Mar 7, 2015 #1
    Hi, everyone. My Name is Constance. I am a recent graduate with a bachelor degree in pure math, I have been thinking about going to graduate school a year ago. I found out that majoring in math for bachelor is really difficult for me to find a job. However, I like math so much. I am not sure should I switch to engineering. I didn't take any many science class at my undergraduate study except general physics 1 and 2, general chemistry 1 and 2 and all required mathematics. I am worried about what I should go for? Can anyone provide me some advices?
    BTW, which engineering program is more interesting and fun for girls?
    Thank you so much.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 7, 2015 #2
    I am not sure where you plan to reside, but in Canada, you must hold a Professional Engineer designation in order to legally work as an engineer (for most jobs, excluding software engineering), for which you need to have a bachelor's degree in engineering from an accredited institution. But if you like math so much, perhaps you can look into computer science or software engineering.

I see a lot of girls in chemical or environmental engineering at my uni B/

4. Mar 7, 2015 #3
    To address the last part real quick, there is no engineering program that is "more interesting and fun for girls". It depends entirely on the individual, so if you go with that route just do what you want.