1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I transfer from Georgia Tech to Cornell for Physics

1. Sep 13, 2015 #1
    Hi, I am a freshman materials science and engineering student at Georgia Tech. I have guaranteed transfer to Cornell for next year if I want to take it. My question is, would it be better to take the transfer to Cornell for physics, or get an undergrad degree in some engineering field, and then apply to grad school for physics.

The perks of Cornell is that it is way closer (I'm from New York), and better ranked for everything except engineering. However neither distance nor price is a factor for me.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2015 #2
    I tend to recommend against changing schools without more compelling reasons that the ones you mention, which are relatively minor.

G Tech is pretty good in physics, and you can get an excellent education by changing majors to physics.

I would be very pleased if one of my own children completed a Physics degree from G Tech. With a good GPA, undergrad research record, and test scores, Georgia Tech can be a launching pad to any grad school.

4. Sep 14, 2015 #3

atyy

Science Advisor

Physics Monkey went to Georgia Tech :)

5. Sep 14, 2015 #4
    Hey, recent physics grad from GT here. I can't really say much about Cornell, but GT's physics program is incredible, especially for undergrads (in fact, not entirely sure I'd go there for grad). The Society of Physics Students community is very tight knit for anyone who wants to get involved, and the administration is approachable and transparent. They are also very willing to go through changes to their curriculum, as they are currently doing as per multiple requests by students. Yeah, they /actually/ read your CIOS forms.