Silly Question [single large force versus several small forces]

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of object breaking under applied force and why multiple smaller forces do not add up to cause the object to break. The idea is compared to a spring and how it takes a certain amount of energy to break it beyond its elastic limit. The conversation also touches on the concept of work hardening and the difficulty of defining the elastic limit for some materials. Finally, an analogy is made to slapping and punching to explain the effect of multiple smaller forces versus one larger force on an object.
Bob33
Hi All,

I'm a first year physics student. This seems like a ridiculous Newtonian question, but I'm trying to mathematically prove this.

If an object takes 5N to break, why is it that multiple six 1N events do not summate to cause that object to break?

I'm thinking it's just conservation of energy, since the energy of each event, of the six, does not summate, but rather dissipates?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
I'm going to keep it simple.

Think of the object as being like a spring - it's not a bad analogy as it sounds: many objects are well modeled as a bunch of small masses joined by springs. If they don't seem very springy, they just have very stiff springs.

In order to break the object, you have to apply enough energy to break the spring... i.e. you deform the spring beyond it's elastic limit (if you remember Hook's Law).

But if you don't break it, then the spring quickly returns to normal and ready for the next go.

If it take 5N to deform the spring past it's elastic limit - then 1N won't get anywhere near.
Release the 1N force and the spring just bounces around for a bit and settles down.
Applying another 1N force just repeats this.

There is an in-between conditon though, where a little bit of damage gets done but not enough to break it.