Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple question of interpretation - D&F Ch 10 - Proposition 30

1. May 19, 2014 #1
    I am reading Dummit and Foote, Section 10.5 : Exact Sequences - Projective, Injective and Flat Modules.

I am studying Proposition 30 (D&F, page 389)

I need some help in order to interpret one of the statements in Proposition 30.

Proposition 29 and its proof (Ch 10, D&F page 388) reads as follows:

attachment.php?attachmentid=69913&stc=1&d=1400547687.png

Statement (3) of Proposition 30 begins as follows:

"(3) If P is a quotient of the R-module N ... "

I am uncertain regarding the exact meaning of this statement ... I suspect it means that there exists a sub-module module Q of N such that P = N/Q ...

BUT ... firstly, this seems a vague thing to assert and secondly, I am most uncertain of this interpretation ...

Can someone please clarify the matter for me?

Peter

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. May 20, 2014 #2
    Your guess is essentially correct although [itex] Q [/itex] (which I will call [itex] L [/itex] to agree with the exact sequence in condition (3) ) should be a submodule of [itex] M [/itex] rather than [itex] N [/itex] ([itex] N [/itex] doesn't appear at all in condition (3).) So it means there exists some submodule [itex] L\subseteq M [/itex] such that [itex] P=M/L [/itex].

For lots of these special types of modules (projective, injective, flat etc.) the definition is some nice property that holds for all vector spaces but not for all modules. We would really like it to hold for modules also so that standard vector space proofs can be extended to modules, so we simply define a special class of modules as those which do have this property.