Skype won't update because it can't close applications

• Thread starter nomadreid
  • Start date
  • Tags
nomadreid
Gold Member
TL;DR Summary
The automatic update for Skype will not proceed because supposedly programs are running that it needs shut, but there are no programs listed as running in Task Manager.
Now and then I get the automatic update question "Do you want [Skype] to make changes on your computer"; clicking "yes" gives me something like (this is not an exact quote" "Skype cannot proceed because it cannot close all applications relevant for it setup" with the options : retry, abort, or ignore. I looked in Task Manager "Control-Alt-Delete", and it said that no programs were running. Retry doesn't change anything. Once I tried "ignore", and the computer crashed. So since then I press "abort". Within a day or so, the automatic update reappears. Advice? Please note that I am not a programmer. Should I discard and reload Skype, or what? Thanks.

Computer science news on Phys.org
I have problems like this often. The only ways I know to completely shut down everything is to restart the PC.

Likes nomadreid
If possible, use the web version of Skype. That will get rid of update issues altogether.

Likes jim mcnamara and nomadreid
Skype used to be such a pleasant program........

Likes nomadreid
I had a work computer that would do this a lot. From what I could tell (in my case), it was likely the antivirus software having a look at files and not letting go. The only solution for me was to reboot and immediately do whatever I needed to do before the software started locking on to files. My antivirus expecially loved to lock on to large zipfiles when I was trying to move or copy them and casually gaze at them for hours. :rolleyes:

• Wow
  • Sad
Likes FactChecker, russ_watters, nomadreid and 1 other person