1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solving a system of equations .

1. Aug 8, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Solve simultaneously:
    6(x + y) = 5xy,
    21(y + z) = 10yz,
    14(z + x) = 9zx

2. Relevant equations
    -

3. The attempt at a solution
    Obviously one of the solution is (0,0,0) But I'm more interested in finding the other.
    Expanding these three equations , I get -
    6x+6y=5xy
    21y+21z=10yz
    14z+14x=9zx

But what now? I've no experience solving these type of systems . Please give hints.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2013 #2

pasmith

Homework Helper

Multiply each equation by the unknown which doesn't appear in it so that the right hand side of each equation is then a multiple of [itex]xyz[/itex]. You can then eliminate [itex]xyz[/itex] in three ways to end up with three linear simultaneous equations for [itex]xy[/itex], [itex]xz[/itex] and [itex]yz[/itex].

Having solved those, use the fact that [itex](xy)(xz)(yz) = (xyz)^2[/itex] to find [itex]x[/itex], [itex]y[/itex] and [itex]z[/itex] up to a sign.

4. Aug 8, 2013 #3

Ray Vickson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Even better: if p = xyz, one can express xy, xz and yz as numerical multiples of p (by solving linear equations with p in the right-hand-sides), so---if x, y and z are non-zero---one gets a unique solution for (x,y,z), with no sign ambiguities.

Also: explore what must happen if one of the variables, say x, is zero.

5. Aug 9, 2013 #4
    Thanks for the hints , but I used a different method to solve this equation. From eq. 1 I got y=(6x)/(5x-6) .