Switching between subfields of physics

• Thread starter Isaiah Gray
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the individual is currently conducting research in experimental condensed matter physics and is content with their work. However, they also have a strong interest in general relativity and are wondering if they can pursue it in graduate school if they change their mind. The response is that it is possible to switch fields, even after graduate school.
Isaiah Gray
Hi,

I am a sophomore currently doing research in experimental condensed matter physics, and I'm happy with that. However, I have a lingering fascination with general relativity. If I get to graduate school and decide I'd rather work in GR, would I be able to do that?

Physics news on Phys.org
Isaiah Gray said:
Hi,

I am a sophomore currently doing research in experimental condensed matter physics, and I'm happy with that. However, I have a lingering fascination with general relativity. If I get to graduate school and decide I'd rather work in GR, would I be able to do that?
Yes, completely (assuming the school you go to has GR research, etc, etc).

Nothing you do as an undergrad majoring in physics is going to lock you into a career. You can always switch fields, even after grad school (although the longer you wait, the harder it becomes).

Related to Switching between subfields of physics

1. What is the process of switching between subfields of physics?

The process of switching between subfields of physics involves exploring different areas of study, identifying your interests and skills, and determining the steps needed to transition into the new subfield. This may include taking courses, attending conferences or workshops, and networking with experts in the new field.

2. Can I switch between subfields of physics without a background in that particular area?