Teaching Precalc - extraneous roots?

In summary, the conversation discusses the phenomenon of extraneous roots in solving equations, and ways to identify when they may appear. It is important to remember to check solutions, especially when dealing with equations involving rational polynomials or radicals. The concept of injective and partial functions is introduced and used to explain how certain operations, such as multiplying or dividing by expressions containing variables, can introduce or lose solutions. It is important for students to understand the importance of preserving the solution set when making transformations in an equation.
dreamtheater
Hello,

I am a first-year math grad student, and I just started teaching two sections of precalc! yikes!

So I had a major embarrasing moment during office hours when I told 2 students the wrong answer because I completely forgot about the phenomenon known as "Extraneous roots"! Does anyone remember this from grade school?

For example, if I have x^(1/4)=-2, putting both sides to the 4th power will give me x=16, but this is an incorrect solution, as 16^(1/4)=2. (EDIT: This is with the convention that roots are well-defined functions, so that the only give you the positive answer. I think if you see an equation to solve with radicals involved, it is assumed that the radicals mean positive roots). While this example is simple enough, there are cases where it is not obvious that I have an extraneous root until I plug-in to check!

I am trying to create a list of operations that cause equations to gain additional roots (or lose them). So far, I have:

Gain extraneous roots by:
1. Multiplying both sides by an expression containing a variable. (common for solving rational equations).
2. Raising both sides to an even power.

Lose roots by:
1. Dividing both sides by an expression containing a variable.
2. Taking the 2n-th square root on both sides (unless you remember to put the obligatory plus-minus sign in front).