Textbook recommendations on geometry & topology

In summary, a person's background is in architecture but they have been fascinated by geometry since last year. They started off by trying to grasp the "truth" of architecture and got into algebra. They are considering math as part of their career in the future and are looking for suggestions on what books to start with.
MTB
Hello fellows

My background is architecture (bachelor in2016) but for unknown reasons I’ve been fascinated by geometry since last year. it was roughly at the stage where I was trying to grasp ‘the truth ‘ of architecture and somehow got into geometry... happy coincidence.

Since I hadn’t touched math after high school and forgot most of the math knowledge anyway... I picked up “Art of problem solving - Introduction to Geometry” as a starter.

Ultimately I’d like to get into topology too.

I wonder if i started off the right foot and use what books to get to the final goal. like right now i don't know which books i should be reading and in what sequence. And what subjects I should be studying( like any linear algebra etc?)

Based on high school and current experience, I am good at geometry but suck at algebra, doing ok with calculus. I am considering math as at least part of my career in the future. also reading the thirteen books of the elements by Sir Thomas L. Heather and How to prove it by Velleman. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Likes The Bill
Physics news on Phys.org
I definitely recommend that you study linear algebra. It is very useful for practical applications of geometry, and studying it will give you a greater intuition about the structure of geometric spaces. Also, linear algebra and concepts learned while studying it are used in some of the basic examples of topological spaces, like metric spaces, vector spaces, and inner product spaces.