Think I made the wrong choice of PhD

In summary, this PhD student is feeling uncertain about whether to stay in their PhD program and is wondering what to do.
Arcturus7
Hey folks. I could really use some advice as I'm in a bit of a situation...

I graduated in 2018 with a 1st in Theoretical Physics from a well respected UK uni, and at the time I was fairly sure that I wanted to pursue a PhD in HEP. I had tailored my final year MSci modules to reflect this, and I did a host of relevant modules (GR, QM/QFT, and Standard Model Physics), and I enjoyed it.

I was really lucky and managed to secure a funded PhD in particle theory, however almost as soon as I started I found myself less and less sure that it was for me. January rolled around, I absolutely tanked my exams, and it absolutely killed all my confidence and my motivation. I managed to catch up with the first term's content and I feel as though I largely grasp what's going on, but I have more exams in a month or so and my passion for the subject has totally evaporated. I've had a meeting with my advisor (who is great, I cannot fault them in any way) and they have pretty much told me that unless I perform much better in the upcoming exams, progression may be difficult. That's totally fair, and I completely understand the reasoning.

I've always had an interest in meteorology and climate/weather, and I had considered this route in third year before opting for the HEP route as I was told that it would "better suit my skills" - presumably because my undergrad degree had no Earth Science content. I'm beginning to really regret that decision.