1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Top schools in North America in strings and quantum gravity

1. Sep 20, 2016 #1
    Hi, the question is obvious from the title.

I am looking for the names of the top 30 schools in North America for research work in string theory and quantum gravity.

Any feedback will be very helpful.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2016 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Here we go again.

4. Sep 20, 2016 #3
    Hi, I guess this is quite a common question on Physicsforums.

For the record, though, I am doing my Masters in astroparticle physics in a top 3 school in Canada and am considering the possibility of applying to US schools for PhD in strings and/or quantum gravity.

5. Sep 20, 2016 #4

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I agree, probably not 30 schools in the US have faculty members who work in this area competently.

6. Sep 20, 2016 #5
    Would you say that the top 15 do?

7. Sep 20, 2016 #6

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Come on. This is not so difficult to find out on your own. First you find the top 30 schools. Then you visit the page of the physics department of each school and read their research interests.

8. Sep 20, 2016 #7

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

9. Sep 20, 2016 #8

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member