Trying to understand spin networks, or at least SU(2)

In summary: Is there some more general way of defining a spin network where you don't have to resort to cutting things out, or is that the only way to do it?In summary, a spin network is a trivalent graph where each edge has some mathematical object associated with it, and the objects which are associated with each node and/or the entire graph when considered together always satisfy some kind of property or constraint. Depending on which source I'm looking at, the objects associated with each edge in the spin network seem to be either half-integers, "spinors", or "a number along with some other information". Beyond that basic description, the details seem to be inconsistent. My main questions are
Coin
Hi. I'm a relative layman with a CS/Math background (with more of the former than the latter) and I've been trying to follow some of the recent developments in physics with a hope of eventually understanding at least the outline of the underlying math. I had a couple of questions about some things I'm trying to understand, and if anybody could help point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it greatly. If there's something I should be reading first or somewhere else I should be asking instead of here for any of the following questions, I'd be happy to do so, I am just not sure where to turn for resources at this point.