Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Tunnelling and special relativity

1. Nov 21, 2012 #1
    I have an undergraduate minor in astrophysics from a long time ago and have been brushing up to teach my kids, so I'm not an expert or even a great student of these things, but something I thought I'd log in and ask here:

If special relativity stands for the premise that there is no preferred frame of reference under constant velocity, but QM tells us that (1) we're not "really" anywhere, we're just probably at a certain 3-space coordinate, and (2) there is a nonzero chance that at any given instant I (or a particle of me?) could undergo what would amount to extreme (but perhaps not continuous?) acceleration and show up somewhere else entirely I would ask:

(a) Are there *any* frames of reference at all?
    (b) Are there any frames of reference where constant velocity isn't just a high probability?
    (c) Inasmuch as GR solves the problems for different accelerations,
    (c1) how can QFT work without GR and
    (c2) how can QFT work *with* SR?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 21, 2012 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

Reference frames are mathematical/physical constructions, not objects.

If you consider quantum mechanics: No. Particles do not have "one" velocity there, they have something which could be considered as velocity distribution.

Not at all.

Fine. How can it work with GR? (Nobel prize for the answer)

QFT uses SR in its construction. It cannot work without.

4. Nov 21, 2012 #3
    (a) Obviously; but are they constructs that make sense if the notion of "position" isn't real.

(c) Wait, what? GR doesn't generalize SR to different accelerations?