1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Two lense system - Homemade spyglass.

1. Dec 13, 2009 #1
    Hello.

This is my first time posting here, so bare with me. I am from Denmark and I am at my final year of what corresponds to Senior High School. I am currently working on a project about "optical instruments" in physics (I was told that our A level corresponded to your applied physics level). I'ts the biggest project we do the entire year, so I am a little stressed about it. Anyway, sorry for the introduction.

My question is regarding the path of light and the forming of a picture in a dobble lense system. Part of my assignment was to build my own spyglass. So the system in question consist of: One objective lense with a focal lenght of 30 cm and an ocular lense with a focal lengt of 5 cm. Both lenses have the same size. I know that, when looking at an object through the spyglass i have to ajust the objective lense in order to get a sharp image. But it is unclear to me, what exactlay happens with the lights path when i ajust the distance between the objective- and ocular lenses. I mean, in order to get a sharp image of an object at different distances i have to just the spyglass, but why is that?

2. Relevant equations
    The magnification of the spyglass is given by f1/f2 = 30/5 = 6x times.
    (Not really sure if any equations is needed for me question)

3. The attempt at a solution
    Not sure. Maybe it have something to do with the fact that, the longer the object is away to smaller the viewing angle gets. Atlest thats the only connection i can find.

I guess, what i am basicly asking is: What exactly happens inside the spyglass when I adjust the lenght between the lenses in order to get a sharp image?