1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergrad in mechanical engineering, masters in physics?

1. Oct 17, 2007 #1
    I'm in my third year after bouncing around from physics, math, civil, and now mechanical engineering and find myself going through the motions on most of my coursework and projects. I spend my free time reading physics books like Planck's treatise on thermodynamics and in my classes only find the odd theoretical sections on fluids and thermo interesting. It would be nice if my hobbies and coursework could coincide, so although it's too late to switch now, I was wondering if a masters in physics is possible after I complete undergrad in mechanical? If so, what's involved? I've only taken the three university physics courses which engineers take and have taken 8 math courses

I appreciate any input, thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2007 #2
    I'm in the same boat. I'm a third year Engineering Science major at UCSD. At my school Eng. Sci resemble ME but there's less design stuff and I get one or two more electives. I'm doing the degree to have something to fall back on but my true interest is physics, so I'll try to do a minor.
    If you strictly do an ME and apply for physics grad school, I'll say there's no chance because an ME degree has a completely different set of requirements than does a physics degree. The best solution in my opinion is a minor.

4. Oct 20, 2007 #3