1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergraduate mathematics for an engineer

1. Oct 24, 2012 #1
    I am an electrical engineer who is fascinated by mathematics. As you might expect, electrical engineering uses a lot of advanced concepts in mathematics from differential equations, linear algebra, calculus, complex analysis etc. However I would like to continue reading maths on my own.
    I would like anybody who has finished undergraduate maths list down the subjects in the order they were studied at the university because order matters when studying maths.
    eg.
    First year.
    1. College algebra
    2. Introduction to Linear Algebra
    3. Calculus 1
    4. Statistics
    etc etc etc

Please take my request seriously because I am serious about furthering my mathematical knowledge individually.
    Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2012 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I am going to assume that "college algebra" does NOT refer to "abstract algebra". In that case a reasonable order would be
    College Algebra
    Calculus I and then higher levels of Calculus
    Statistics
    Introduction to Linear Algebra
    Ordinary Differential Equations
    Partial Differential Equations

4. Oct 24, 2012 #3
    what about topics like Group Theory, Topology . . . things that are not done in engineering courses . . . where will their location be . . . all of the topics listed above I did in university with just introduction to PDE rather than anything indepth (Laplace equation, wave equation)

5. Oct 24, 2012 #4
    Math branches out. That is, you could go from analysis 1 to analysis 168 without ever taking abstract algebra, topology, etc. The only importance of order is from analysis 1 to analysis 2 to ... analysis 168.