Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding some unfamiliar words

1. Dec 24, 2015 #1
    Hi,

I have a python project to do that related to building a mesh class that represents triangles.
    (I am a bachelor student of mathematics in my first year, so all this material is pretty new to me)

I should get as an input two matrices:
    *one which represents the coordinates of the nodes.
    *one which represents the elements(triangles) using the node numbers.

My problem is that I really don't know what it is node numbers. How do they numbered?

I have attached the file of the project
    I really can't start doing it without understanding those words and what do the numbers in the matrices represent.

Thank you,
    Thomas

Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:12:56.png Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:13:06.png Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:13:16.png

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 24, 2015 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

The nodes are the points at which the vertex points of the triangles meet, I believe. The node numbers are just a way of numbering the nodes. Take a look at the files that are mentioned in your problem. The first pair of numbers in coord1.txt should give the coordinates of a node. The first number in elementnode1.txt should identify the first node that is listed in coord1.txt.

4. Dec 24, 2015 #3
    Thank you for the answer.
    I think I should have uploaded the files because, it seems reasonable for the nodes coordinate, but there are too many numbers in the numbers, it doesn't make sense at all (for me at least), according to what it should be.

Thank you.

Attached Files:

5. Dec 24, 2015 #4

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

In your post you showed the files as coord1.txt and elementnode1.txt, which are slightly different from the ones you attached. Are you able to open the files mentioned in your problem?