1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Understanding the math in physics

1. Sep 12, 2014 #1
    I just started learning kinematics in my college physics class and I am pretty thrilled. Question is am I supposed to be making sense of the mathematics in the equations? Because I feel like I'm just regurgitating formulas and I don't really think that's what science is about.

For example, one of the kinematic equations is D=Vi(t)+half of(a)(t)squared.
    I want to understand why the time is squared at the end and why is it even divided by one half in the first place?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 12, 2014 #2

olivermsun

Science Advisor

Think of the graph of your speed if you start from 0 and accelerate at a constant rate.

The graph of ##V(t)## will be a straight line with constant slope a: ##V(t) = at##.

The triangular area under the graph is the distance you've traveled.

The area of a right triangle is ##\frac{1}{2}##(base) * (height) = ##\frac{1}{2} t * at= \frac{1}{2}a t^2##.

4. Sep 12, 2014 #3
    That makes much more sense. I just wasn't thinking about it graphically. Thank you so much man!

5. Sep 12, 2014 #4

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member