1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

University advice for mechanical engineering?

1. Sep 24, 2016 #1
    Hello PF.

I apologize if this is in the wrong forum board, I thought this post would be relevant since it has to do with MechEng. Feel free to move the thread to the correct spot if it is in the inappropriate section. Anyways, I'm in a bit of a dilemma. Basically, I have an unconditional offer at Oxford Brookes in the UK to study Mechanical Engineering next year. The best thing about it is that it is FAFSA approved and it has a decent reputation. My parents do not want me to go because they believe I did not 'earn' going there. I graduated with a 30 points in the IB, which I could have done better but anyways, they do not believe I should go because not only is it fairly pricey for international students but they don't think I'll do well. I say it's well worth the risk since I am passionate about physics and math but they don't think I'm dedicated enough. My only other option is to go to a community college since it's inexpensive. The University in the UK is still cheaper than out of state colleges and some in state colleges. I've done a ton of research on this and I feel like it's a good place to go. In the mean time i'll take physics classes at CC then go there next year. Should I just continue at CC or should I go to the UK and study somewhere different? Any advice is appreciated, thanks :)

Sincerely,
    Nick

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 24, 2016 #2

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I'm not familiar with Oxford Brooke's but...