1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Vector Motion and Perpendicular

Tags:
  1. Aug 11, 2016 #1
    Hello!
    I'm currently studying Projectile Motion and Motion in Two Dimensions now in Physics class, and I happened to quickly jot down what my teacher said onto my computer. I came across the note and it says "Vector forces cannot be perpendicular to each other." I'm a little unsure of what is meant and I cannot ask my teacher, he's not here for a while. Please explain.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2016 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

It sounds like what you wrote down was either misheard, or is omitting some important context. There is no general rule that forces cannot be perpendicular. Every time a horse pulls a cart, the cart is subject to two perpendicular forces: gravity pointing down and the horse pulling forward.

4. Aug 11, 2016 #3
    you must give the context of that statement ....on the face of it the statement does not carry any sense as there are no scalar forces and all forces can be designated by a vector .....more over the force can act in any direction so perpendicular forces can exist...say you are pushing a block on a table the force of push and the reaction of table surface are perpendicular and are physically independent.

5. Aug 11, 2016 #4