1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wants ChemE job, loves Mechanical E curriculum

1. Nov 27, 2012 #1
    Hello.
    I am a sophomore in college trying to decide between majors
    Mechanical Eng. and Chemical Eng.
    This decision has been a lengthy introspective battle since graduating high school.

I have always enjoyed chemistry, notably chemical reactions especially in food and drinks and biology. I work as a barista and am passionate about tea and coffee.
    I have a small dream that I would work as a brewmaster for a tea, wine or beer plant.
    Basically I would love to work in a chemical engineering setting, designing a process or taking thermodynamic and quality measurements of reactors etc for biofuel or some cool product.

The problem is that I really love the mechanical engineering curriculum. It gives me a completely well-rounded curriculum including fluid mechanics, work with stress in solids, etc.
    The Chemical eng. curriculum is principally focused on chemical process design and different applications to reactors and pipes and processes as well as economic feasibility. I would love all that curriculum but want to learn about so much more in solids, stress, and machinery.

Does anyone have any advice on the issue?

I am pretty sure some responses will tell me to suck it up and switch to chemical engineering and teach myself mechanical curriculum secondarily.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 31, 2012 #2